City Council

Monday 24 June 2024

PRESENT:

Councillor Tuohy, in the Chair.

Councillor Murphy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Coker, Cresswell, Cuddihee, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Finn, Freeman, Gilmour, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Loveridge, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, Simpson, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan and Ms Watkin.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Mrs Bridgeman, Dann, M.Smith and Wood.

The meeting started at 2.40 pm and finished at 3.10 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <u>www.plymouth.gov.uk</u>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

12. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest.

13. Council Electoral Review

A motion was introduced by Councillor Tuohy (Lord Mayor) and seconded by Councillor Murphy (Deputy Lord Mayor) to suspend the Rules of Procedure under Part B 8.9 of the Constitution. The Council <u>agreed</u> this motion.

For (51)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Coker, Cresswell, Cuddihee, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Finn, Freeman, Gilmour, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Loveridge, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, Simpson, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan and Ms Watkin.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Did not vote (I) Councillor Tuohy. The report was introduced by Tracey Lee (Chief Executive).

Questions pertaining to the content of the report were levied from Councillor P. Nicholson.

The motion was introduced by Councillor Evans OBE (Leader of the Council) and was seconded by Councillor Lugger (Leader of the Opposition).

After contributions from Councillors Poyser and P. Nicholson, the Council agreed to:

- i. Acknowledge that it is not possible to run the electoral cycle consultation and Boundary Commission Ward consultation concurrently, therefore the BC should be informed of the electoral cycle consultation timetable accordingly so that they can propose their own revised timetable for their consultation processes;
- Approve the Council Size Submission for the Boundary Commission prior to submission on the 25 June, but with an addendum to follow once the outcome of the electoral cycle is known;
- iii. Delegate to the Audit and Governance Committee the review and finalisation of the consultation process and task officers with progressing the consultation exercise within an agreed timeframe.

For (45)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Coker, Cresswell, Cuddihee, Darcy, Dingle, Evans OBE, Finn, Freeman, Gilmour, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Holloway, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Loveridge, Lowry, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, Simpson, R.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Stevens, Taylor, Tippetts, Tofan and Ms Watkin.

Against (3)

Councillors Mrs Beer, P. Nicholson and S. Nicholson.

Abstain (4)

Councillors Darcy, Finn, Mrs Loveridge and Ricketts.

Did not vote (I) Councillor Tuohy.